Chateauneuf du Pape - Wines - Domaine André Brunel - Les Cailloux

Wine pairings: Châteauneuf-du-Pape : vegetarian dishes: our best advice

Wine pairings: Châteauneuf-du-Pape : vegetarian dishes: our best advice

Food and wine pairing: Châteauneuf-du-pape and vegetarian dish: our best advice 

 

Nowadays we are conscious that for the good of the planet we will have to consume less and less animal protection protein. However, a gourmet and greedy alternative exists just as tasty and which can be a source of protein: vegetables, raw, cooked, dietetic or gourmet, carpaccio style, winter or summer ones, vegetables offer flavors for all taste buds. Contrary to a preconceived idea, wine goes perfectly well with vegetarian or vegan dishes (let’s remember that the vegetarian dish can contain eggs and milk whereas the vegan dish will not contain any ingredients oof animal origin. At André Brunel’s estate our Châteauneuf-du-Pape has proved it could be a major asset to watch your vegetable dishes with a good bottle of wine. 

 

Why does Châteauneuf-du-Pape match so well with vegetables? 

 

Our Châteauneuf-du-Pape cuvées « Les Cailloux » and « Centenaire » offer their delicacy of taste thanks to an extraordinary terroir, that is to say: the rolled pebbles of the estate and the prestigious grapes varieties blend. The red wines offer very fruity notes which allow the tannins to remain elegant and soft, as a result wines of great delicacy, the white cuvée offers a dry but fruity and floral wine with a great minerality which makes it particularly pleasant in summer. These different characteristics (minerality and fruit noes) make it perfect with the vegetables taste because a delicate wind will go better than a sweet or tanning wine. 

 

Ideas for original matchings between Châteaueuf-du-Pape and vegetarian or vegan dishes to make sure to realise a perfect dish. 

 

In summer, when the weather is very hot or in winter (with a dish of potatoes) to try to have a more dietetic food or because you receive vegan friends, the vegetable dish is more and more present in our diet; that’s why at André Brunel’s estate, we suggest ideas in order to allow you to realise a perfect dish which will satisfy perfectly hunger as well. 

 

Raw and carpaccio vegetables

 

In a mixed salad very appreciated in summer or in a carpaccio of delicate vegetables the raw vegetable can match with provided you respect an important rule: do not make a too strong seasoning. Indeed, it’s very important to avoid a too spicy French dressing which will then compete with the taste of wine. In order to have a salad which will perfectly match with the wine we advise to use milk-based sauces (vegetable ones for vegans such as soy or coconut). A red wine is too strong to match with raw vegetables.  It’s better to serve a dry and powerful white wine, very mineral, such as a Châteauneuf-du-Pape but also wines from the Loire valley or from the Rhône area which are not liqueur-like. 

 

Cooked vegetables 

 

Matching wine with a vegetarian cooked dish will depend on the choice of the vegetables: the white Châteauneuf-du-Pape will perfectly go with tomatoes, asparagus, artichokes or eggplants. We recommend more especially this wine with “tian” (assorted baked vegetables) or stuffed vegetables (zucchini or eggplant), these recipes can be made without milk or with vegetable milk, carrots or beets will go better with sauvignon which is more aromatic, and we recommend a chardonnay or a chenin for beans. The advantage of the red Châteauneuf-du-Pape as far as cooked are concerned is that it can go well with a lot of them: tomatoes, eggplants, onions, beets, turnips, Jerusalem artichokes, all of them will match with this wine. Light wine, it goes perfectly well with potatoes by counterbalancing the richness of this starch. So, it will go perfectly with a vegetarian “tartiflette” (a potato dish) or a vegetarian “raclette” (a cheese dish). 

 

Vegetable ready-cooked dishes 

 

All kinds of dishes are now available in vegetarian or vegan option: 

 

•Vegetarian or vegan pizza: (thanks to vegetable cheese), we recommend a light mineral white wine (Côtes-du-Rhône, Viognier, or a southern grenache or also a light rosé). The delicacy of the wine will balance the multiple flavors of the pizza.

•Vegetarian or vegan burger: With a burger, you can choose a full-bodied red wine, even somewhat tannic to highlight the vegetable protein (soy, leguminous plants etc). Red wine matches quite well with fries which are generally served with the burger.

•Southern cooking: Mediterranean cooking, more especially the Greek one, was in antiquity, close to vegetarianism. Greeks ate mainly raw vegetables, olives and cheese. Besides, they had a great wine culture! That’s why vegetarian moussaka, tzatziki or baked vegetables were served with white or red southern wines, such as Châteauneuf-du-Pape, because of their lightness. Also, note that the favorite dish of French people, couscous, including many different vegetarian versions, goes quite well with a light red wine or a rosé. 

 

Published : 2022-07-20

RSS feed

Chateauneuf du Pape - Vins - Domaine Les Cailloux - André Brunel

Accords Mets vins : Châteauneuf-du-Pape : plats végétariens : nos meilleurs conseils

Accords Mets vins : Châteauneuf-du-Pape : plats végétariens : nos meilleurs conseils

De nos jours, nous avons conscience que, pour le bien de la planète, nous allons devoir consommer de moins en moins de protéines animales. Or, une alternative gourmet et gourmande existe, tout aussi goûteuse et pouvant également être source de protéines : les légumes. Crus, cuits, en plats diététiques ou gourmands, en carpaccio, d’hiver ou d’été, les légumes offrent des saveurs pour toutes les papilles. Contrairement à une idée reçue, le vin s’accorde parfaitement avec des plats végétariens ou vegan (rappelons que le plat végétarien peut contenir des œufs et du lait, tandis que le plat vegan ne comportera aucun ingrédient de provenance animale). Au domaine André Brunel, notre Châteauneuf-du-Pape se révèle un atout majeur pour accorder vos plats de légumes avec une bonne bouteille. 

Pourquoi le Châteauneuf-du-Pape s’accorde si bien avec les légumes ? 

Nos cuvées en Châteauneuf-du-Pape : « Les Cailloux » et « Centenaire » tirent leur finesse du terroir extraordinaire, des galets roulés du domaine et du mélange de cépages prestigieux. Ces cuvées en rouge présentent des notes très fruitées qui permettent aux tannins de rester élégants et discrets, pour une grande subtilité. La cuvée de blanc propose un vin sec mais fruité et floral, se caractérisant par une belle minéralité qui le rend particulièrement appréciable l’été. Ces différentes caractéristiques (minéralité et notes de fruits) permettent de s’accorder particulièrement avec le goût des légumes, avec lesquels il faut favoriser les vins subtils plutôt que les vins liquoreux ou tanniques. 

Des idées d’accords originaux entre Châteauneuf-du-Pape et plats végétariens ou vegans pour une sans-fautes garantie :

L’été, lors des fortes chaleurs ou l’hiver avec des plats de pommes de terre, pour essayer d’avoir une alimentation plus diététique ou parce que nous recevez des amis vegans, le plat de légumes devient de plus en plus fréquent dans notre alimentation. Nous vous proposons, au domaine André Brunel, des idées pour que votre plat et votre fin fassent mouche à tous les coups. 

Crudités et carpaccio de légumes : un accord sur la fraîcheur : 

En salade composé, très prisée l’été, ou en carpaccio de légumes élégant, le légume cru peut se marier avec du vin, à condition de respecter une règle d’or : ne pas avoir la main lourde sur l’accompagnement. En effet, il faut éviter une vinaigrette trop forte qui serait alors en compétition avec le goût du vin. Pour que votre salade s’accorde correctement avec du vin, nous recommandons de privilégier des sauces à base laitière (à remplacer par du lait végétal pour les vegans, comme le soja ou la coco). Le vin rouge est trop fort pour des plats de légumes crus : il faut favoriser un vin blanc sec et puissant, comme le Châteauneuf-du-Pape, mais également des vins de la vallée de la Loire ou du Rhône, qui ne sont pas liquoreux. 

Légumes cuits , une multitude d'arômes :

L’accord du vin avec un plat végétarien cuit dépendra des légumes utilisés : le Châteauneuf-du-pape blanc pourra s’accorder parfaitement avec des tomates, des asperges, des artichauds ou des aubergines. Nous vous recommandons particulièrement ce vin avec un plat comme le tian de légumes ou le légume farci (courgettes ou aubergines), ces recettes pouvant se réaliser sans lait ou avec du lait végétal. Pour des légumes comme les carottes ou les betteraves, il est plus prudent de se tourner vers le Sauvignon, plus aromatique et pour les haricots, le peps d’un Chardonnay ou d’un Chenin est recommandé. L’avantage du Châteauneuf-du-pape rouge, quant aux plats de légumes cuits, est sa polyvalence : tomates, aubergines, oignons, betteraves, navets, topinambours, rien ne lui résiste. Vin léger, il s’accorde particulièrement avec les plats de pommes de terre, en contrebalançant la richesse de ce féculent. Il accompagnera donc une tartiflette végétarienne ou une raclette végétarienne sans problème. 

Les plats cuisinés à base de légume : différents repas possibles :

Tous les classiques de la gastronomie se déclinent maintenant en option végétarienne ou vegan les accords et les arômes sont multiples : 

•Pizza végétarienne ou vegan: pour une pizza végétarienne (ou vegan, grâce au fromage végétal), il est recommandé de proposer un vin blanc léger et minéral (Côtes du Rhône, Viognier ou Grenache du Sud) ou encore un rosé léger. La subtilité du vin compensera les multiples saveurs de la pizza. 

•Burger végétarien ou vegan: avec un burger, il est possible de choisir un vin rouge avec du corps, voire un peu tannique, pour mettre en relief la base de protéines végétales (soja, légumineuses etc.). Le vin rouge s’accorde bien avec les frites qui accompagnent traditionnellement le burger. 

•Cuisine du Sud: la cuisine méditerranéenne, en particulier grecque, était, dans l’Antiquité, proche du végétarianisme. Les Grecs se nourrissaient principalement de légumes crus, d’olives et de fromage. Et ils avaient une grande culture viticole ! Ainsi, moussaka végétarienne, tzatzíki ou tians s’accorderont avec des vins blancs ou rouges du Sud, comme le Châteauneuf-du-Pape, du fait de leur légèreté. Notez aussi que le plat préféré des français, le couscous, dont il existe de multiples versions végétariennes, s’accorde fort bien avec un vin rouge léger ou un rosé.

 

Parution : 20/07/2022

Fil RSS